Allen Plays Spoiler at Big O Speedway

Chase Allen Victory Lane

By Jackson Braun

ENNIS, Texas (May 28, 2019) – The first visit to the Big O Speedway for the Red River Modified Tour did not disappoint. 48 IMCA Modifieds, 30 IMCA Southern SportMods, and 19 IMCA Stock Cars were on hand for the fourth round of the tour. Tensions were high and action was close all night long.

Jeff ‘The Animal’ Taylor and Chase Allen led the field to green for the IMCA Modifieds’ first tour feature event at the speedway. Allen was fast from the start, getting the jump on the initial start and never looking back. Every single restart, Allen was smoother than cream cheese on a bagel as the 157 machine ran away from the field.

Abilene’s Josh McGaha started inside of row 2 and was able to pass Taylor after a restart, setting his sights on Allen. Chris Elliott, also from Abilene, was charging from the 18th starting spot in his B Main to the top 10. Elliott would gain a little more real estate on every single restart as he worked the top and middle lanes of the track.

Elliott settled into the top 3 after a green flag run got going on the racetrack. Every time McGaha closed in on Allen, Allen would pull away. The Midlothian racer found his way to victory lane, playing spoiler to the tour as his only planned stops were Sunday in Elm Mott and Tuesday in Ennis. This is career tour win #2 for Allen, as he took the opener last year in Kennedale.

Bo Day Victory Lane

Kaden Honeycutt utilized his pole position starting spot to get a good jump on the field in the IMCA Southern SportMods. A mishap in corners 3 and 4 during the race closed the gap between him and 2nd place racer Bo Day, but Honeycutt still held onto the lead. A caution slowed everything down, and Day was able to get around Honeycutt. Day went on to claim the feature victory, his second of the 2019 tour after winning at Heart O’ Texas.

The Stock Cars have seen the Williams clan and the Abbey clan fight tooth and nail for the best of the class each and every night, and tonight was no different. Gary Williams got to the lead once again and looked primed for a 3rd victory on the tour but then came the Abbeys. Jeffrey Abbey has been unbelievably fast in his 2012 Voodoo Chassis, as he propelled his car ahead of Williams and into Victory Lane. Williams followed in 2nd, followed by Dean Abbey, Westin Abbey, and Shelby Williams.


IMCA Modifieds – 1. Chase Allen, Midlothian; 2. Josh McGaha, Abilene; 3. Chris Elliott, Abilene; 4. Jeffrey Abbey, Comanche; 5. William Gould, Calera, Okla.; 6. Drew Armstrong, Benton, Ark.; 7. Cory Davis, Eunice, N.M.; 8. Fred Wojtek, Blackwell; 9. Eric Tomlinson, Waco; 10. Mark Carrell, Redmond, Ore.; 11. Tyler Stevens, Jacksonville, Ark.; 12. Kevin Green, Waco; 13. Brandon Hood, McGregor; 14. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 15. Jerad Herring, Vidor; 16. Jeff Hoegh, New Caney; 17. Chris Morris, Taylor; 18. John Gober, Poolville; 19. Ronnie Bell, Lorena; 20. Garrett Higgins, New Waverly; 21. Paris Archie, Sparks, Nev.; 22. Chris Bragg, Springtown; 23. Matt Guillaume, Haslet; 24. Jason Hunter, Poolville; 25. Brent Tidwell, Harleton.

IMCA Southern SportMods – 1. Bo Day, Greenville; 2. Kaden Honeycutt, Willow Park; 3. Cody Smith, Kaufman; 4. Rowdy Day, Greenville; 5. Tommy Davis, Wills Point; 6. Jacob Pirkle, Midlothian; 7. Taylor Florio, Copperas Cove; 8. Tyler Bragg, Springtown; 9. Kevin Rowland, Cedar Hill; 10. Justin Nabors, Kemp; 11. Trevor Egbert, Salado; 12. Jake Upchurch, Red Oak; 13. Kamera McDonald, Haslet; 14. Craig Oakes, Marshall; 15. James Hanusch, Belton; 16. Trevor Raney, Sherman; 17. Chris Florio, Copperas Cove; 18. Chad Fitzgerald, Baytown; 19. Casey Brunson, Lott; 20. Kaine Buckmeyer, Forney; 21. Tanner Houston, Odessa; 22. Thomas Blackwell, Crandall; 23. Bobby Parker, Dallas; 24. Michael Martin, Kaufman.

Jeffrey Abbey Victory Lane

IMCA Stock Cars – 1. Jeffrey Abbey, Comanche; 2. Gary Williams, Bonham; 3. Dean Abbey, Roanoke; 4. Westin Abbey, Comanche; 5. Shelby Williams, Bonham; 6. A.J. Dancer, Red Rock; 7. Jason Riddle, Balch Springs; 8. Dennis Bissonnette, Stephenville; 9. Dustin Mooney, Forney; 10. Brandon Hood, McGregor; 11. Lee Riley, Lubbock; 12. Vernon Owens, Leander; 13. Charlie Brown, Tuscola; 14. Tyler Muirhead, Mabank; 15. George Egbert, Salado; 16. Gary Kerr Jr., Odessa; 17. Caleb Crenshaw, Fort Worth; 18. Treven Geter, Lindsay, Okla.; 19. Drew Garcia, Waxahachie.