Ferguson, DeJong, Heckman, and Fowler Winners On Penultimate Night At Bristol Dirt Nationals

Chris Ferguson Victory Lane

By Steven Young

BRISTOL, Tenn. (Mar. 19, 2021) – Four feature winners, including three overall champions, were crowned Friday night at the Karl Kustoms Bristol Dirt Nationals at the Bristol Motor Speedway.

The first main event featured the M&W Transport Super Late Models which was led to green by Chris Ferguson and Jonathan Davenport.

Ferguson led the opening lap with Kyle Larson stalking him, but Larson slipped up the race track which allowed Davenport to regain the second spot.

The top three pulled away from the rest of the pack as Ferguson opened up a two second lead.

Ferguson then went to work on traffic but had no problem with the lappers until a caution flew just before the midway point of the 25-lap event.

Larson moved back to second on the ensuing restart with Scott Bloomquist also improving one position into fourth. Another caution erased a one second advantage for Ferguson a few circuits later.

Larson stalked Ferguson on the first few rounds after the final caution, but was unable to take the top spot as Ferguson continued on to victory. Davenport, Bloomquist, and Chris Madden rounded out the top five.

Maguire DeJong Victory Lane

North Dakota’s Brady Bjella and Iowa’s Maguire DeJong paced the field to start the 20-lap Tire Demon by Love Tap Sport Mod championship event.

Bjella pushed up the track on the start, allowing DeJong to set the pace up front early, bringing Trey Stamper and Jared Boumeester with him into the top three.

Stamper was the next to slip up, making Boumeester and Bjella the new top three with two laps in the books.

DeJong steadily built his advantage from one second to a second-and-a-half before a final pair of cautions.

DeJong went unchallenged in the final laps, winning over Bjella, Boumeester, Zack Tate, and Josh Most.

Kyle Heckman Victory Lane

JD Auringer, who was looking to go three-for-three on the week, and California’s Kyle Heckman shared the front row to start the 20-lap Velocita-USA Modified championship.

Heckman took the early advantage with Clay Money and Justin O’Brien taking second and third before a lap three slow down.

Auringer improved back to third on the restart, then to second a pair of corners later as Heckman continued to lead.

New Mexico native Cory Davis and Iowa hotshoe Ricky Thornton, Jr. made their way onto the podium by the halfway point of the 20-lap run.

Heckman continued on to victory lane over Davis, Thornton Jr., Auringer, and Money.

Cass Fowler Victory Lane

Seth Wimpey and Cass Fowler brought the 20-lap Pro FABrication 602 Late Model feature to the final green of the night.

Fowler led through a few caution periods through the first half of the 20-lap finale.

The late stages of the race had eliminations of the early contenders, as Wimpey and Spencer Singleton made contact on the front stretch, leading Singleton to flip.

Trey Mills and Brenden Smith made contact on the backstretch on the final restart, starting a 14-car pileup. All drivers were okay, but eight cars were left to attempt to finish the final eight laps.

Fowler continued on to victory over Dustin Diem, Kevin Powell, Hayden Swaney, and Jamie Maurice.