Mundie, Davis and Abbey Winners At Texas Dirt Return

By Steven Young

NO LIMITS, Texas (June 10, 2021) – The Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track roared back to life Thursday night with three winners collecting checkered flags. Austin Mundie in the Sprint Bandits, Tommy Davis, Jr. in the Limited Mods, and Jeffrey Abbey in the Factory Stocks all picked up victories on the opening night of the All Star Showdown.

Sprint Car Veterans Sammy Swindell and Johnny Herrera made up the front row for the 25-lap Sprint Bandits main event. Swindell was able to get out to the point early at the start of the race.

After a caution at the conclusion of the opening circuit, Swindell continued to lead while John Carney took the second spot as Herrera’s No. 45X stumbled on the ensuing restart.

It only took Swindell a handful of laps to start working lapped traffic, as the race went without another caution for the next 16 laps when Herrera’s car succumbed to mechanical woes.

On the restart, Carney and Swindell traded some big sliders, but Swindell continued to lead until the final pair of cautions of the race with five laps left.

It was around this time when Channin Tankersley, who had to start at the rear of the field due to having to change a tire after his heat race, charged into the top five.

On the final restart Austin Mundie, restarted third and charged to the lead passing both Swindell and Carney to take the lead with four to go.

Mundie went on to win over Tankersley, Swindell, Carney, and Chance Morton.

Tommy Davis, Jr. and Wyatt Wilkerson shared the front row in the Limited Modified feature.

Davis took the point through turns one and two, while Cody Smith, Brandon Watson, and Shelby Williams went three-wide for the third spot.

Smith and Williams eventually engaged Wilkerson in a three car battle for the final spot on the podium.

Wilkerson was the winner of the battle a few laps later, as Davis opened up a sizable advantage up front over Smith.

Past the halfway point, Tanner Whitmire threw his hat into the ring for a spot on the podium, passing Williams then chasing down Wilkerson for third.

The leaders worked heavy traffic late in the race, but continued on to victory over Smith, Wilkerson, Whitmire, and Ryan Doyon.

Davis was on the pole for the first feature of the evening with Walter Hamilton lined up to his outside to start the Factory Stock finale.

Hamilton took the point on the opening circuit as Davis, Neil Kemp, and Randy Buttery battled for second.

Buttery spun in the turn four a few laps later setting up a Delaware double-file restart.

Hamilton continued to lead with Davis in second, while Kemp and Jason Gore went door-to-door for third.

Westin Abbey was the next to challenge Kemp for position, as the pair traded sliders in the closing laps.

Hamilton was the first to take the checkers, but three drivers were disqualified in post-race tech, giving Jeffrey Abbey the victory.

Kemp finished second with Dennis Bissonnette finishing third, Shawn Graham fourth, and Gary Williams rounding out the top five.

The All Star Showdown continues on Friday night with a second night of Sprint Bandits, Limited Mods, and Factory Stocks on the card. You can catch all the action of the opening night of the All Star Showdown and night two on www.racexr.plus.