Tankersley and Smith Win At All Star Finale; Abbey Sweeps

By Steven Young

NO LIMITS, Texas (June 11, 2021) – Channin Tankersley and Cody Smith added their names to the Texas Motor Speedway wins list Friday night, while Jeffrey Abbey completed a weekend sweep in Factory Stock competition to complete the All Star finale.

Chance Morton and Tankersley led the field to the green for the final Sprint Bandits feature of the weekend, and it was the latter who took the point early.

It was a land rush on the initial start for the runner-up spot with four drivers going four-wide for the spot, which was eventually taken by Casey Burkham.

Jeb Sessums was the next to challenge for the runner-up spot, taking the position at the conclusion of the third lap.

Tankersley, who charged from 24th to second one night prior, guided Bruce Griffith’s Old School Racing No. 17G with precision around the four-tenths mile oval, catching the rear of the field with just seven laps in the books.

With 11 laps remaining, Chance Morton went for a tumble in turn number two, but he emerged from his wrecked mount uninjured.

On the restart, Thursday night’s winner Austin Mundie got a great restart, improving from fourth to second, bringing John Carney with him.

Mundie ate into Tankersley’s advantage through the final bout with lapped traffic, but Tankersley held on to win over Mundie, Carney, Sessums, and Danny Jennings.

Shelby Williams and Ryan Doyon made up the front row for the Limited Modified feature, with Doyon taking the early lead.

Fifth place starter Cody Smith charged up to second on the opening lap and began to reel in Doyon for the lead.

A few laps later, Smith caught Doyon and took the point with six laps complete. Tanner Whitmire caught Doyon for second while double duty runner Tommy Davis, Jr. battled with Williams for fourth at the halfway point.

By then, Smith had built a sizable advantage and began working lapped traffic. Whitmire and Doyon remained in a door-to-door battle in the waning laps as Smith continued on to victory over Whitmire, Davis, Doyon, and Williams.

AJ Gardner and Thursday night winner, Jeffrey Abbey, paced the field to start the Factory Stock main event. Abbey was able to spring out to the early advantage.

Despite an early caution, Abbey continued to lead as Dennis Bissonnette lurked around in the runner-up spot.

Though the top two broke away from the rest of the pack, one could’ve tossed a blanket over the battle for the final spot on the podium, as Westin Abbey, Jason Gore, Chris Davis, Gary Williams, Neil Kemp, and Gardner waged war for the position.

Abbey pulled away late in the race to win over Bissonnette, Westin Abbey, Jason Gore, and Chris Davis.

The replay of the All Star Sprint Car Showdown finale can be seen at www.racexr.plus with a plus subscription.