Two More Drivers Punch Tickets To Karl Chevrolet Duel in the Desert Championship Features

Jacob Hobscheidt and Ethan Dotson Advance to Modified Championship Feature; Top 15 Starters Set in Four Championship Features

LAS VEGAS (November 11, 2021) — Two more drivers are locked into Saturday’s IMCA Modified championship feature following qualifying feature victories on Night 3 of the 24th Annual Karl Chevrolet Duel in the Desert at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Winners of qualifying features receive automatic bids into Friday and Saturday night’s championship features in four classes at the Duel in the Desert: IMCA Modified, IMCA SportMod, IMCA Stock Car and STARS Mod Lite.

Based on points, the top 15 starters for championship features are now set for each of the four classes. Each championship feature will carry up to 24 cars; the remaining spots will be filled on Friday and Saturday during their respective heat races and last chance qualifying races.

For a full breakdown of Thursday night’s results, click here for the Box Score. For final qualifying points, click HERE.

In IMCA Modified action on Thursday night, Jacob Hobscheidt of Plattsmouth, Neb., took the lead for good on lap seven and continued on to victory over Bricen James. Hobscheidt started from the pole after winning his heat race from the 10th starting spot.

Zane DeVilbiss of Farmington, N.M., won the second Modified qualifier over Zack VanderBeek. Both drivers were already locked into Saturday’s main event after they won qualifiers on Wednesday night.

DeVilbiss went on to lock into the IMCA Stock Car championship feature with a qualifying victory at the end of the night, as well.

Ricky Thornton Jr. of Adel, Iowa, won for the third consecutive night, stealing the victory late from Chaz Baca. Thornton is the defending Duel Modified champion and will start from the pole in the Modified championship feature on Saturday night.

Ethan Dotson of Bakersfield, Calif., started from the pole position and won the fourth and final Modified qualifier over Tim Ward.

Zack Forster of Bakersfield, Calif. remained perfect in the STARS Mod Lite division, passing Darrick Knutsen for the win coming to the white flag.

Jorddon Braaten of Central Point, Ore., won the first IMCA SportMod qualifier from the pole position. The victory was Braaten’s second of the week.

Chase Alves of Casa Grande, Ariz., took the lead in lapped traffic on the final lap to win the second SportMod qualifier over Dylan Van Wyk. Both drivers were already locked into Friday’s championship feature with victories earned on Wednesday night.

Brett Berry of Hays, Kan., won the third and final SportMod qualifier over Cole Suckow. It was Berry’s second qualifying win of the week.

Dallon Murty of Chelsea, Iowa, remained perfect in the IMCA Stock Car division, as he won his third qualifier of the week over Shelby Williams. DeVilbiss took the second of the two Stock Car features.

IMCA SportMod and STARS Mod Lite championship features will be held Friday night and IMCA Stock Car and IMCA Modified championship features running Saturday night.

Top 15 Qualifiers: IMCA Modified
1. 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr.*
2. 33Z Zack VanderBeek*
3. WW1 Ricky Alvarado*
4. 01T Peyton Taylor
5. 4TW Tim Ward
6. 5L Cody Laney*
7. 89C Steven Whiteaker
8. 48K Kollin Hibdon
9. 75JR Chaz Baca
10. 113 Jerry Flippo*
11. 18Z Zane DeVilbiss*
12. 10N Robert Sanders*
13. A Ethan Dotson*
14. 01 Jacob Hobscheidt*
15. 5 Jeff Taylor*

Top 15 Qualifiers: IMCA SportMod
1. 84 Jorddon Braaten*
2. 53 Logan Anderson*
3. 117 Dylan Van Wyk*
4. 151 Tyler Bannister
5. 21P Ryan Peery
6. 16K Kaylin Lopez
7. 09B Brett Berry*
8. 75 Cole Suckow
9. 43LV Logan Veloz
10. 14A Chase Alves*
11. 51 Jason Bannister
12. 2K Taylor Kuehl
13. 2M Matt Sanders
14. 59 Randy Miller
15. 99RE Arie Schouten*

Top 15 Qualifiers: IMCA Stock Car
1 99X Dallon Murty*
2 18Z Zane DeVilbiss*
3 99D Damon Murty*
4 82 Shelby Williams
5 40JR Bubba Stafford Jr.*
6 97M David Murray Jr.
7 25P Mike Petersilie
8 93 Michael Jaennette
9 88H Beau Hutchison
10 08 Chase Berkeley
11 10 Mike Stapleton
12 55AK Scott Sluka
13 67 Michael Villanueva
14 77S Jerry Schram
15 10J Jake Nelson

Top 15 Qualifiers: STARS Mod Lite
1 11 Zack Forster* 600
2 64 Randy Bryan 576
3 14 JD Brown 570
4 99 Darrick Knutsen 567
5 95 Collin Bender 561
6 114 Sean Conyers 549
7 32 Brian Schmidt 534
8 97 Steve Bender 525
9 33 Mike Schmidt 522
10 94 Brandi Myers 510
11 88 Michael Phay 504
12 9 Riley Clem 385
13 17 Tim Varney 349
14 29A Gary DeWitt 176
15 71 John Piker 161

*Denotes Tuesday-Thursday Qualifying Feature Winners

Super Late Models will race features on both Friday and Saturday night. Friday night’s feature will be $25,000-to-win and Saturday’s will pay $50,000 to win. Bobby Pierce, Brandon Overton, Boom Briggs and Scott Bloomquist will double their payout on Saturday night as part of the Karl Chevrolet Double Down Triple Crown.

Tickets and race information can be found at www.duelvegas.com.